Tuesday, May 25, 2010

Ministers for Tax raising and Tax policy

The Treasury have published a list of headline ministerial responsibilities for key ministers in George Osborne's new team.

On the tax side, the breakdown of roles is a little different from that which applied under the previous regime. The majority of key responsibilities are to be shared by two ministers:

Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury: David Gauke MP

  • Strategic oversight of the UK tax system including direct, indirect, business and personal taxation;
  • Corporate and small business taxation, with input from the Commercial Secretary;
  • Departmental Minister for HM Revenue and Customs and the Valuation Office Agency;
  • Lead Minister on European and international tax issues;
  • Overall responsibility for the Finance Bill.
Economic Secretary to the Treasury: Justine Greening MP

  • Environmental issues including taxation of transport, international Climate Change issues and Energy Issues;
  • North Sea oil taxation;
  • Tax credits and child poverty and assisting the Chief Secretary on welfare reform;
  • Charities and the voluntary sector;
  • Excise duties and gambling, including excise fraud and law enforcement;
  • Stamp duty land tax;
  • EU Budget;
  • Ministerial responsibility for the Royal Mint and Departmental Minister for HM Treasury Group;
  • Working with the Exchequer Secretary on the Finance Bill.
The Financial Secretary to the Treasury, Mark Hoban, will instead focus on financial services, banking, the City and financial markets in the UK and abroad. He will be responsible for the FSA, personal savings and pensions policy, and the aftermath of Equitable Life.

No comments:

Post a Comment